Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Santa Cruz Symphony – Inventing America

October 11, 2015 @ 8:00 pm - 10:30 pm

$25 – $70

COPLAND “Fanfare for the Common Man”, Severiano Briseño arr. “El Sinaloense”, GERSHWIN “Rhapsody in Blue” featuring Jon Nakamatsu, pianist, and Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 “New World”

To purchase tickets online, go to www.santacruztickets.com.
Group and family discounts are available. Season subscriptions are also available. Check our website for details.

Although Dvořák’s monumental 9th Symphony (‘From the New World’) has long been considered the Great American Symphony, thanks in part to its prominent African-American, Native-American and Bohemian influences, most do not know of its origins as an Opera based on Hiawatha. Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, featuring longtime SCS collaborator and Van Cliburn Gold Medalist Jon Nakamatsu, is the epitome of Jazz Age elegance and excitement, while Oswaldo Golijov’s arrangement of Severiano Briseño’s boisterous ‘El Sinaloense’ lends the wit and joy of Mariachi to this American themed program, which begins with Copland’s stirring Fanfare for the Common Man.


October 11, 2015
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
$25 – $70
Event Category:


Santa Cruz Civic Audotorium
307 Church Street
Santa Cruz, CA 95060 United States
+ Google Map

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.